The Long Horn State requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $30,000 bodily injury per person, up to $60,000 bodily injury per collision, and at least $25,000 worth of property damage. Watch out if you don’t have adequate car insurance in Dallas; authorities, as well as police officers throughout the state, have a new tool in their arsenal to catch individuals behind the wheel who lack the appropriate coverage.
TexasSure, created in a joint effort by the Texas Departments of Insurance, Motor Vehicles, Public Safety, and Information Resources, gives certain state employees the ability to verify the current insurance status of any given vehicle. According to the TexasSure website, around 20 percent of all vehicles in the state are uninsured. This means out of every five vehicles you pass on the street, at least one is likely to lack the required insurance. The “financial responsibility verification program,” as it is called by the 79th Texas Legislature that signed it into existence, can help put an end to this lack of insurance, as well as the use of phony or invalid insurance cards which some individuals have used in the past to avoid detection.
Will the new TexasSure system put you at risk of trouble with the law? You can help yourself avoid any issues behind the wheel by obtaining car insurance in Dallas. Drivers in need of a policy should contact an agent now.